Skip to content

AIM Independent Music Awards

8:00pm, Wednesday 25th Aug 2021

The AIM Independent Music Awards return on 25 August 2021 as a global livestream, marking the 22nd year of the Association of Independent Music. The ceremony champions industry-leading creativity, innovation, and performance shown by independent artists, labels and outstanding individuals.

Full List of Nominees

UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music

  • Arlo Parks (Transgressive Records)
  • Conducta (Kiwi Rekords)
  • India Jordan (Ninja Tune)
  • Rina Sawayama (Dirty Hit)
  • Working Men’s Club  (Heavenly Recordings)

International Breakthrough in association with Deezer

  • Bicep (Ninja Tune)
  • Fontaines D.C. (Partisan Records)
  • Jayda G (Ninja Tune)
  • 박혜진 Park Hye Jin (Ninja Tune)
  • Tkay Maidza (4AD)

Best Independent Track in association with Facebook

  • Arlo Parks – Hope (Transgressive Records)
  • Bonobo & Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs – Heartbreak (OUTLIER – Ninja Tune)
  • ENNY – Peng Black Girls ft. Amia Brave (FAMM)
  • Katy J Pearson – Take Back The Radio (Heavenly Recordings)
  • Lava La Rue – Magpie (Marathon Artists)
  • Mustafa – Air Forces (Young)
  • serpentwithfeet – Fellowship (Secretly Canadian)
  • Shygirl – TASTY (Because Music)
  • Squid – Narrator ft. Martha Skye Murphy (Warp Records)
  • Tkay Maidza – Shook (4AD)

Best Independent Album in association with Spotify

  • Arlo Parks – Collapsed in Sunbeams (Transgressive Records)
  • Che Lingo – The Worst Generation  (7Wallace Music)
  • Dry Cleaning – New Long Leg (4AD)
  • Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders & The London Symphony Orchestra – Promises (Luaka Bop)
  • Krust – The Edge of Everything (Crosstown Rebels)
  • Moses Sumney – græ (Jagjaguwar)
  • Phoebe Bridgers – Punisher (Dead Oceans)
  • Speaker Music – Black Nationalist Sonic Weaponry (Planet Mu)
  • Rian Treanor – File Under UK Metaplasm (Planet Mu)
  • Working Men’s Club – Working Men’s Club (Heavenly Recordings)

Best [Difficult] Second Album in association with BBC Radio 6 Music

  • AJ Tracey – Flu Game (Revenge Records)
  • Bicep – Isles (Ninja Tune)
  • Dream Wife – So When You Gonna… (Lucky Number)
  • Fontaines D.C. – A Hero’s Death (Partisan Records)
  • Leon Vynehall – Rare, Forever (Ninja Tune)

Best Independent Remix in association with SoundCloud

  • Bon Bon (Mike Lindsay Remix) – Songhoy Blues (Transgressive Records)
  • Fair Chance ft. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B (Floating Points Remix) – Thundercat (Brainfeeder)
  • megapunk (Elkka Remix) – Ela Minus (Domino)
  • soulboy (IZCO Remix) – p-rallel, Greentea Peng (Different Recordings)
  • Sweat ft. LIZ (SOPHIE Remix) – Sonikku (Bella Union)

One To Watch in association with BBC Music Introducing

  • Che Lingo (7Wallace Music)
  • Lava La Rue (Marathon Artists)
  • Nova Twins (Nova Twins Ltd)
  • TSHA (Ninja Tune)

Best Creative Packaging

  • AJ Tracey – Flu Game (Special Edition) (Revenge Records)
  • Figaro de Montmartre – Emotion Soap (Figaro de Montmartre)
  • King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Eco Wax Editions (Heavenly Recordings and Flightless Records)
  • Sleaford Mods – Spare Ribs (Rough Trade Records)
  • Working Men’s Club – Working Men’s Club (RAW Edition) (Heavenly Recordings)

Best Independent Video in association with Vevo

  • Arlo Parks – Hope (Transgressive Records)
  • Julien Baker – Hardline (Matador Records)
  • Kojaque – No Hands (Different Recordings)
  • Novo Amor – If We’re Being Honest (AllPoints)
  • Wesley Joseph – Thrilla (EEVILTWINN)

Best Independent Label in association with [Integral]

  • 4AD
  • Dead Oceans
  • Forever Living Originals 
  • Partisan Records 
  • Transgressive Records

Best Small Label in association with Believe

  • Athens of the North
  • Finesse Foreva
  • Killing Moon
  • Sonic Cathedral
  • Strut Records

Indie Champion in association with MCPS

  • Bandcamp
  • Love Record Stores

Diversity Champion

  • Paulette Long